“Zeich(n)en der Zeit” in Berlin

The large comics journalism exhibition “Zeich(n)en der Zeit”, which was first shown at the Comic Salon Erlangen 2018, is moving in May 2019 to the Museum for Communication Berlin.

Lilian Pithan and Nathalie Frank, who were involved as curators of the exhibition in Erlangen, have adjusted the exhibition to the space provided by the Berlin museum. Next to originals by Sarah Glidden, Ulli Lust, Bo Soremsky, Olivier Kugler and Barrack Rima, there will be prints by Joe Sacco, Victoria Lomasko and Aimée de Jongh, among other things. Furthermore, two reportages from the collection “Alphabet of Arrival” will also be exhibited.

The opening of the exhibition “Zeich(n)en der Zeit” will take place on May 22, 2019, at 19 o’clock in the Museum for Communication (Leipziger Straße 16, 10117 Berlin-Mitte). The exhibition will run until August 25, 2019.

As part of the supporting programme, there will also be a comics-journalism workshop run by Lilian Pithan and Sascha Hommer (July 13–14, 2019), a drawing workshop with Bo Soremsky (June 15, 2019) and a panel discussion on the topic “New narrative possibilities from around the world: What can comics journalism do?”.

Photo credits: © Sarah Glidden, cover snippet from “Rolling Blackouts”

„Zeich(n)en der Zeit“ in Berlin

Die große Comicjournalismus-Ausstellung „Zeich(n)en der Zeit“, die anlässlich des Internationalen Comic-Salons Erlangen 2018 erstmalig gezeigt wurde, wandert im Mai 2019 ins Museum für Kommunikation Berlin

Lilian Pithan und Nathalie Frank, die schon in Erlangen als Kuratorinnen beteiligt waren, haben die Ausstellung an die Räumlichkeiten des Berliner Museums angepasst. Neben Originalen von Sarah Glidden, Ulli Lust, Bo Soremsky, Olivier Kugler und Barrack Rima werden u.a. Drucke von Joe Sacco, Victoria Lomasko und Aimée de Jongh zu sehen sein. Außerdem werden zwei Reportagen der Sammlung Alphabet des Ankommens ausgestellt. 

Die Vernissage der Ausstellung „Zeich(n)en der Zeit“ findet am 22. Mai 2019 um 19h im Museum für Kommunikation (Leipziger Straße 16, 10117 Berlin-Mitte) statt. Der Eintritt ist frei. Anschließend läuft die Ausstellung bis zum 25. August 2019. 

Im Rahmenprogramm finden außerdem ein Comicjournalismus-Workshop mit Lilian Pithan und Sascha Hommer (13. und 14. Juli 2019), ein Zeichenworkshop mit Bo Soremsky (15. Juni 2019) und eine Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema „Neue Erzählmöglichkeiten aus aller Welt: Was kann Comicjournalismus?“ statt. 

Bildnachweis: © Sarah Glidden, Coverausschnitt von „Im Schatten des Krieges“